Text Size A A A

Sun Pharma In The News

Tell a Friend Print Home » Media » Sun Pharma In The News

Shanghvi is ET's business leader of year

MUMBAI: A jury chaired by Microsoft CEO Satya Nadella has chosen Sun Pharma MD Dilip Shanghvi, who built the country's biggest pharma company from scratch, as The Economic Times Business Leader of the Year, 2014.

Other winners of the ET Awards for Corporate Excellence include TCS as Company of the Year and Adani Ports and Special Economic Zone as Emerging Company of the Year. Chandra Shekhar Ghosh, founder of Bandhan Financial Services, and Dhiraj Rajaram of Mu Sigma were jointly named Entrepreneur of the Year, while Deepinder Goyal-promoted Zomato took the Startup of the Year award.

Cipla chairman Yusuf Hamied was recognized for his work in making anti-AIDS drugs cheaper to millions of patients with ET's Lifetime Achievement of the Year award. U K Sinha captured the jury's imagination with his work as chairman of Sebi to emerge Business Reformer of the Year. Tata Steel is Corporate Citizen of the Year.
Satya Nadella, who joins an elite league of global CEOs with origins in India, was awarded the Global Indi an of the Year.

In the words of the jury members, the winners deserved their accolades because of exemplary nature of their work and the benefits to a wider society. "It was a very cohesive jury panel," said Harish Salve, eminent lawyer."New leaders are coming up," said K V Kamath, chairman, ICICI Bank. "We find the shifts that are happening in the types of businesses and leaderships fascinating."

Ravi Dhariwal, CEO of Bennett, Coleman & Co Ltd, the holding company for TOI and ET, said, "It is like the Indian cricket team. On the one side we have very established players, and at the same time, young players are emerging all the time." Others on the jury were Kumar Mangalam Birla; SBI chairman Arundhati Bhattacharya; Zia Mody , a corporate lawyer; Bharti Retail CEO Raj Jain; Flipkart CEO Sachin Bansal; Star CEO Uday Shankar; and Dilip Shanghvi.