Text Size A A A

Sun Pharma In The News

Tell a Friend Print Home » Media » Sun Pharma In The News

Dilip Shanghvi is E&Y entrepreneur of the year


Sun Pharmaceutical Industries Chairman and Managing Director Dilip Shanghvi was today named the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year 2010.
Eight others, including Bajaj Auto Managing Director Rajiv Bajaj and Tractor & Farm Equipment Chairman Mallika Srinivasan, received awards across categories at an award ceremony attended by over 350 people in New Delhi today. The lifetime achievement award this year was conferred on Hero Honda Chairman Brijmohan Lall Munjal.
Shanghvi will represent the country at the Ernst & Young World Entrepreneur of the Year Award in Monte Carlo, Monaco, in June. Shanghvi had earlier won the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of The Year award in the Healthcare and Life-sciences category in 2005.
Bajaj won the award for business transformation, Srinivasan for manufacturing, Jubiliant Life Sciences CMD Shyam S Bhartia and Hari S Bhartia for surya080211 - 0031-1.jpg
life sciences and consumer products, Interglobe Enterprises MD Rahul Bhatia for services, Jaipur Rugs Company MD N K Chaud-hary for start-up, Jindal Steel & Power Vice-Chairman and MD Naveen Jindal for energy & infrastructure and Shriram Transport Finance MD R Srid-har for manager.
Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of The Year award is the only business award to be based on self-nomination and is now in its 12th year in the country. A record 312 nominations were received this year. The jury, led by former Sebi chairman M Damodaran, included PRS Oberoi (The Oberoi Group), Naina Lai Kidwai (HSBC), Dalip Pathak (Warburg Pincus), Sunil Kant Munjal (Hero Corporate), A Vellayan (Murugappa Group), Rajiv Lall (IDFQ and Sanjay Na-yar (KKR India Advisors).